Change the Way You Think

Change it

One of the easiest things you can do to make positive change in your life is to alter the way you think about it. This doesn’t just sound simple, it IS simple.

Sometimes we find ourselves thinking;

‘If only I had _________. If I had more ________ my life would be better, I would be happier’.

This just isn’t true. I am sure there are examples all around you from your own life. Something you felt you wanted/needed so badly, that in the end, simply did you no good.

When we bought our tiny floaty home, we did so out of necessity. We absolutely could not afford land in the Vancouver area. Though my husband has a decent income, I do not – and it takes (at least!) two good incomes to afford a house with land here.

When we first moved into the float home (which was all we could afford), I was nearly emotionally devastated by the tiny impractical galley kitchen – I cried! I couldn’t envision myself ever baking again, or having a family holiday dinner.

At the same time, I had a girlfriend moving into a huge 800,000 dollar home, and she was equally devastated by her feeling that she did not have enough grass in her yard. This made me think.

How could we both be feeling something close to devastation by particular aspects of our homes when there is more than a half million dollar split between our budgets?

Perspective.

I decided to do some research and discovered that there is an entire ‘tiny house‘ movement. People that CHOOSE to live in the tiniest spaces possible – without land, without mortgages. And they do so because they WANT to live a simple life.

They want the option of working less and living more. They are adventurers and ecologists, though perhaps not by profession.

This discovery changed me – it changed the way I thought about a situation I could not change. It made me feel proud  – proud to be a part of a movement with such great importance – with values I agreed with.

Suddenly it was ‘cool’ to be living in the tiny float home. It doesn’t matter that I happened upon it by chance – by forceful coincidence – against my will. What matters is the outcome, the ‘now’.

This is where I am supposed to be, and now I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

Serendipity.

Sometimes things are as they are for a reason, whether you know it or not.

I did learn to use the kitchen, and I can bake – in my toaster oven. I have successfully held family dinners, group sleep overs and BBQ parties.

I learned to live with less space, and I learned to be happy with what I have.

With sacrifice (of what I thought I wanted) came benefit (of what is really best). This could be called a Universal Law. Often you must sacrifice what you think you want to get what you really need.

As a matter of fact, now I am convinced I can live in even less space. If you can’t change it, change the way you think about it!

FURTHER READING;

6 responses to “Change the Way You Think

  1. This is exactly how I face every challenge in my life. I’ve been practicing this since the age of 16 when my social anxiety was so bad, I couldn’t speak a word to anyone other than my custodial parent. This “technique” has helped me survive.

  2. So very true!! I find that more often than not, I create bigger problems than what I’ve got because I tend to be a pessimist so my perception of things is always a “worst case scenario” kind of thing! >.< I'm working on it but I'm a work in progress!! 😉
    Oh, and thank you so much for stopping by my blog, by the way! (:

    • Thank you Mari – and you are welcome for the visit 🙂

      For many years I worked on changing my perspective – what really helped me was travelling to actual third world countries and seeing how pitiful my problems were ‘in real life’.

      Perspective!!

Share your thoughts;

