Our Fragile Earth – The Overview Effect

Together on Spaceship Earth

Photo screenshot from the ‘Overview’ film found at http://www.planetarycollective.com

Recently I was fortunate enough to stumble across this breathtaking, life changing documentary featuring philosophers, theorists and astronauts who have experienced and understand the ‘overview effect‘.

The ‘overview effect’ can be explained as a new self awareness – a complete emotional, spiritual shift in perspective on humanity. From planetarycollective.com;

Astronauts who have seen the Earth from space have often described the ‘overview effect’ as an experience that has transformed their perspective of the planet and mankind’s place upon it, and enabled them to perceive it as our shared home, without boundaries between nations or species.

Throughout the film our planet is referred to as ‘spaceship earth’. It is pointed out very eloquently, by some of the worlds greatest intellects, that we all ride spaceship earth together as one species – and should be acting like one species with one destiny – in order to survive.

The images of earth as viewed from space are nothing less than spectacular. Unbelievable, incredible and surprisingly moving. I was left wishing I could reach out to mother earth, give her a hug, beg for the forgiveness of my species, and never let go.

I was effected by what they call ‘Salvacofus Omadi’. A religious like experience that can happen when exposed to the overview effect. It is discussed at minute 11 of the film.

“You see things as you see them with your eyes, but experience them emotionally and viscerally with a sense of ecstasy and total unity and oneness.”

It made me long for a togetherness – a sort of loving, understanding, brotherhood that would encompass all of humanity – a global community that has not existed here on earth before.

I was very moved by the documentary, which re-solidified my own focus and belief. It also made me cry. The incredible views of the earth from above, our fragile life upon it – our beautiful, sparkling, electric world that we all are guilty of taking for granted.

Take the 19 minutes out of your life to give it a view. You can find the link below. I promise you will be blown away, and may even experience your own ‘Salvacofus Omadi’.

FURTHER READING;

7 responses to “Our Fragile Earth – The Overview Effect

    • I am SO THANKFUL you actually watched it and are sharing – most have not.

      I was feeling like I must have failed in getting my point across – my synopsis and promotion were simply not good enough!

      Isn’t it a magnificent, incredibly moving documentary? I have watched it every day since I discovered it. Brilliant!

      • No I don’t think you failed, you said all that needed to be said… I think people are in such a hurry that they don’t pause to watch something like this..
        I am so grateful for having seen it… it’s all that you say it is… just so moving… that moment when Edgar Mitchell said in his down to earth voice… “which means we are all made of star dust!”… I felt as though I was hearing the’ morning stars sing together’…

        • Oh my goodness – yes – we are all made of stardust – and spoken by a man who would know! So profound. Thank you – I think you are right – it is hard to slow down – but such a shame that more people don’t. Sometimes it means that you miss out!

  1. Ana Ela, I am so happy that you shared Overview and got such a powerful experience from it. Its important to understand such experiences as Edgar’s are among a small minority and occur primarily to those who bring a prior receptiveness to the experience. This by no means minimizes the OE’s ability to induce such, just to say that the majority of space travelers experience something somewhat less profound but very important for moving us all closer to a truly profound shift in awareness. They experience, either for the first time or with a viseral sense of newness the fact that we live on a tiny, round, fragile planet moving through an enormous star-filled universe. Though supposedly we all know this, they tell us that fort them it was only intellectual before the direct experience, This leads to the more profound moment for those ready and closer to it for the rest of humanity. For more, visit our website at http://www.overviewinstitute.org. – Peace, David

  2. Hello David,

    I would say I am definitely one of those who is ‘receptive to the experience’! I didn’t even need to be anywhere near space to have a similar experience…

    Such an incredibly profound documentary. A brilliant perspective. I have enjoyed sharing it, and have yet to show someone who hasn’t been moved (to tears, usually!).

    Thank you so much for taking the time to imbue us with some of your knowledge – I will definitely be doing some reading at http://www.overviewinstitute.org.

    Ana 🙂

Share your thoughts;

