Make Your Own Bible

Your Own Bible

COLLECTING INSPIRATION and TRUTH

I have a notebook (or two or three!) that I write my thoughts and inspirations into. Sometimes I doodle and draw, or I might glue, tape or staple in something I found – a ticket from an important inspiring event, a photo (yes, stickers too – I can’t help it!).

And quotes, lots and lots of inspiring quotes. Magic, insightful words are entered through the pages over time, front to back. Some from the Christian Bible, New Age books, Osho and the Koran and so on. Inspiration can even come from friends and family, nature, pets.

Yes, I have tried to modernize my methods by using my new tablet for organization, but it just isn’t the same. I like the feeling of a book in my hands, I like the act of turning pages. This too could be considered a form of meditation.

MAKE YOUR OWN BIBLE

I do this to maintain my focus, and for all intent and purpose – I am creating my own bible – and I am suggesting you do the same. This process does so much more than just solidify your beliefs within yourself. We all need a reminder from time to time, a foundation, a place we can go for guidance and motivation. A place we create ourselves within the pages of our little spiritual book.

It should be a book of collected personal truths, thoughts from others and your own. Notes on adventure and learning. You can find your inspiration anywhere – whenever something rings true – it goes into your ‘bible’.

BUDDHIST INSPIRATION

I do not proclaim to be Buddhist. After living for a year in Thailand (the only country in the world that is all but entirely Buddhist at about 90%), I learned that just like Christianity, sometimes Buddhism is better on paper than in practice.

Having said that, I like to look in all directions for influence and inspiration, and in that regard, Buddha rarely disappoints. Following are a few of my favourite Buddhist quotes on the topic of words and thought. Yes they ring true, and would make great first entries in YOUR personal bible;

  • Words have the power to both destroy and heal. When words are both true and kind, they can change our world.
  • He who envies others does not obtain peace of mind.
  • What we think, we become.
  • We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make our world.
  • Fill your mind with compassion.
  • All that we are is the result of what we have thought. If a man speaks or acts with an evil thought, pain follows him. If a man speaks or acts with a pure thought, happiness follows him, like a shadow that never leaves him.

So head out this weekend to your favourite art supply, stationary, or even dollar store – the Universe doesn’t care! Pick up a fresh new notebook and pen, and get on making your own inspirational collection.

You need it – we all do.

FURTHER READING;

One response to “Make Your Own Bible

Share your thoughts;

